Home Formula 1 Which Driver Can Take Most Consecutive Pole Positions at the Same F1...

Which Driver Can Take Most Consecutive Pole Positions at the Same F1 GP?

Formula 1 has had a number of renowned drivers since 1950. The pinnacle in motor racing was fortunate. The constant arrival of brilliant racers has been a major factor in making motor racing the global phenomenon it is today.

Formula 1 is the only sport with such a high level of fame. It is largely due to the F1 Drivers who have graced the sport over the years. The sport wouldn’t have found a place in the hearts and minds of fans without the drivers.

This article will focus on the drivers that have achieved the most consecutive pole position at a Grand Prix. In F1, pole positions are crucial as they give a driver the greatest chance to win a Grand Prix . In the long history of F1, there are a number of drivers who have achieved consecutive pole positions in a single race.

List of the most consecutive pole positions in a Grand Prix

5. Charles Leclerc – 3 consecutive poles

Charles Leclerc is the first driver to appear on this list. The Monegasque driver managed to place his car on the pole for three consecutive times at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix. The Monegasque driver was able to achieve this feat in 2021, 2022 and 2023. He has proven himself to be the master of Baku’s street circuit in his career.

Leclerc is still a young driver at the top of motorsport and has a bright future. In the future, Leclerc might break more F1 records, which would contribute to his legacy.

4. Stirling Moss & Sebastian Vettel – 4 poles in a row

Six drivers have won a Grand Prix four times in a row. Stirling Moss, a former F1 driver, did it from 1995 to 1998 at the British Grand Prix. Jim Clark achieved it at both the French GP in 1962-1965 and the British GP in 1963-1965.

Michael Schumacher on the other had managed to achieve the pole position four times in a row at the Malaysian Grand Prix from 1999-2002. Sebastian Vettel, the former F1 World Champion and four-time winner, achieved the feat between 2009-2012 at the Japanese GP. Lewis Hamilton is the last person to have achieved this record. The Brit managed to accomplish the feat three times. He won the Italian GP four times in a row between 2014 and 2017, and the Malaysian GP on three occasions. Between 2015 and 2019, he has been the British GP pole position winner.

3. Michael Schumacher: 5 poles in a row

There are several F1 drivers who have managed to achieve four consecutive pole positions in a Grand Prix. However, only one driver has been able to do so five times consecutively at the same race. The former seven-time F1 World Champion Michael Schumacher is that driver. The German has achieved this feat twice during his career.

He won five consecutive poles in the Japanese Grand Prix from 1998-2002. Then, between 2000 and 2004, he was able to repeat this feat at the Spanish Grand Prix. He was a beast on the F1 circuits during his racing career. Few drivers were able watch him in his prime years.

2. Lewis Hamilton – 6 poles in a row

Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton have both made it onto this list twice. Lewis Hamilton and Michael Schumacher have each achieved four pole positions in a row at the same race. However, Hamilton’s record of five consecutive poles is one more than Schumacher.

Lewis Hamilton has so far in his impressive career won the pole position six times in a row in one race. So far, the Briton has won six consecutive pole positions at the Australian Grand Prix. Between 2014 and 2019, he won the pole position in Australia. It is a record that should be expected of a driver who has been regarded as the best ever to step foot in Formula 1. Like Schumacher, he’s won seven World Championships. He could win an eighth one in the future to keep the record for himself.

1. Ayrton Senna – 7 consecutive poles

The Brazilian legend Ayrton Senna is the last driver to make the list. He lost his life in tragic circumstances at the San Marino Grand Prix of 1994, but before then, he had achieved many milestones in sport. His F1 journey began in 1984 with the Brazilian Grand Prix. He achieved many accolades during his career in the sport. One of them was winning the San Marino Grand Prix seven times consecutively.

In the long history that motor racing has had, no other driver has been able to win the pole position seven times in a row at the same Grand Prix. Ayrton senta was able to place his car on the pole seven times in a row between 1985-1990. Since his tragic death, Ayrton Senna is remembered for his racing skills.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

What is a Rotating Proxy Server and What Benefits Does it Offer?

A rotating proxy server is a type of proxy server that changes its IP address after a certain period of time. It...

How Many Submission Wins Charles Oliveira have in UFC Career?

Charles Oliveira, who began fighting professionally in 2008 has earned the nickname "Do Bronx", a reference to Brazilian gym-goers referring to him...

Aaron Rodgers to Never Feature on Madden’s Cover, Twitter Reacts

Aaron Rodgers is considered one of the greatest quarterbacks of our generation. The 39-year old QB has played in the NFL for nearly...

Which Striker Will Real Madrid Sign to Replace Karim Benzema?

Karim Benzema left Real Madrid for Saudi Pro League champions Al Ittihad. It has left a huge hole in the Spanish giants' roster,...

WTC 2021-23 Final Day 2 India vs Australia Match Prediction

The World Test Championship final between Australia and Team India is on the back foot. Steve Smith and Travis Head put Australia...